Salmon Brook Settlement Salmon Brook Settlement Salmon Brook Settlement Salmon Brook Settlement

Salmon Brook Settlement Salmon Brook Settlement Salmon Brook Settlement Salmon Brook Settlement

Granby, Connecticut has retained the village atmosphere of earlier days. A leisurely Sunday afternoon drive down the Rte. 10 & 202, showcases 18th and 19th century houses which are set back from the wide, tree-lined street. Stop at the Salmon Brook Historical Society complex for a tour of its four museum buildings and a glimpse into Granby's past. The Weed-Enders House built in 1790 in West Granby and moved to the site. It houses the visitor's entry and the museum store. Also, an elegant Victorian parlor depicts in cluttered splendor, a view of the past where visitors can look through a stereopticon and marvel at intricate hair wreaths. The fine genealogical library is open for researchers on Tuesday and Thursday mornings or by appointment. The 1732 Abijah Rowe House is the oldest structure left from the original Salmon Brook Settlement. It has been restored to an early 1800s appearance and has appropriate period furniture. The paneling and corner cupboard in the south parlor are original to the house. The corner cupboard in the north parlor, exemplifies early 19th century remodeling. The second floor also houses a room with Victorian toys, from a wooden tricycle to an exquisite doll house, along with a charming collection of antique dolls. The Cooley School is the only remaining one-room schoolhouse in Granby which has not been renovated into a home or shop. It was built c.1870 on the corner of East Street and Cooley Road. At that location, the school and woodshed were in Granby, while the outhouse was in Southwick, Massachusetts. The school was moved to the Society site, along with the outhouse and the original granite state line marker, for authenticity. A typical 19th century classroom has been recreated with wood stove, water bucket and dipper (shared by all), an 1855 Connecticut map and the mandatory picture of George Washington. The books, slates and desks were once in the Granby District Schools and are used again by visiting school children. The Colton-Hayes Tobacco Barn Museum displays a microcosm of Granby's past. Exhibits include Indian artifacts, spinning wheels, Civil War items, a Meeting House, 1890 era kitchen, wash kitchen and sick room, along with a General Store filled with fascinating objects. The barn also features many of the businesses from Granby's past: seamstress, shoemaker, creamery, saw mill, cabinet maker, harness maker, blacksmith, tobacco, and farming. A glass-sided, horse drawn hearse and a beech tree carved by Civil War soldiers fascinate visitors. The Salmon Brook Historical Society exhibits are all Granby, tools used by Granby men, clothing worn by Granby women and toys played with by Granby children. The Society is open for tours June through September, Sundays 2-4 p.m. Two tours are offered, first the house and second the barn for $2 each, seniors and under 12 are $1.

Tour time: 2 hours


Dates of Operation

June-Sept., Sun. 2-4; and by appt. Library open year-round, Tue. and Thu. 9-12.


Adults $4, seniors and children (under 12) $2.

208 Salmon Brook St.
(Rtes. 10 & 202)
Granby, CT 06035
United States

Map & Directions