Huguenot House/East Hartford Historical Society

Working to preserve and share the history of East Hartford.  Founded in 1964 to "instill into the townspeople of East Hartford a sense of the history of the town and to preserve for them this history, including physical properties remaining and the records of the past in the memories of the older citizens,” the Historical Society of East Hartford works to promote an understanding by the public of life in early East Hartford by sponsoring programs and events of historical interest, by guiding visitors through its museums, and by preserving its collections of local antiques.

The Society maintains a three building complex in East Hartford's Martin Park on Burnside Ave for showcasing facets of the city's history:

·      The 1761 Makens Bemont House (Hugenot House) depicts the home of a fairly prosperous late 18th/early 19th century East Hartford workingman.

·      The 1820s Goodwin Schoolhouse displays items as they might have been used in an early/mid 19th century school.

·      The 1850s Burnham Blacksmith Shop displays late 19th and early 20th century tools and equipment used in the East Hartford area.


307 Burnside Ave.
PO Box 380166
East Hartford, CT 06108
United States

Map & Directions